VIRTUAL COURSES

>>> ONLINE RESOURCES <<<

>>>NEW<<< INSECT BEHAVIOURS

Thursday 11th March. 16:00 CET
Ben Cooper “Mechanisms of behavioural variability in the desert locusts”

Thursday 25th March. 15:00 CET
Wolgang Roessler “Learning to navigate -how desert ants calibrate their compass systems”

Monday 12th April 11:00 CET
Carolina Rezaval “A neuronal mechanism controlling the choice between feeding and sexual behaviors in Drosophila”

Tuesday 20th April. 16:00 CET
Eamonn Mallon “Imprinted genes in a social insect”

Friday 7th May. 16:30 CET (9:30 CST)
Christine Merlin “Timing and magnetic sensing strategies in monarch butterflies migratory behavior”

>>>NEW<<< LIFE HISTORIES AND ECOLOGICAL GENETICS

PART 1
Thursday 18th March. 17:30-19:30 CET (9:30 PST)
Bill Bradshaw and Christina Holzapfel “Life-History Evolution in Seasonal Environments”

PART 2
Wednesday 24th March. 14:30 CET (9:30 EST)
Paul Schmidt Title TBC

STATISTICS FOR CHRONOBILOGY

PART 1
Monday 7th December. 2pm-5pm (CET).
Roelof Hut: “Intro/refreshing lecture on statistics, data transformations, circular statistics, simple flow chart”
(pre-recorded session, followed by a live debrief at 16:30 CET)

PART 2
Wednesday 9th December. 2pm-4pm (CET).
Roelof Hut: “Harmonic regression (Circwave)”
(pre-recorded session, followed by a live debrief/practical at the end)

PART 3
Tuesday 15th December. 1pm (CET) onwards
Eran Tauber: “ANOVA in R- online practical”
(please install R and R studio, both available from here)

VIRTUAL TOUR OF CREA

Tuesday 17th November
3pm-4pm (CET). Silvia Cappellozza and Alessio Saviane.
https://www.crea.gov.it/

COMPARATIVE INSECT CHRONOBIOLOGY

Part 1: Lectures
Friday 30th October
10am-12pm (CET). David Dolezel, “Evolution of circadian clock genes in insects”
2pm-4pm (CET). ‪Charlotte Helfrich-Förster‬, “Evolution of the circadian clock in the brain of insects”

Part 2: Research seminars
Tuesday 3rd November
4pm-5pm (CET). David Martínez-Torres, “Molecular basis of photoperiodism in aphids”

Wednesday 4th November
4pm-5pm (CET). Guy Bloch. “The social clock of the honey bee”